Division C was originally named Division J, which was created in a split of Division B on July 1, 2013.  This split had been due to the vibrant growth and expansion of members and clubs in the Ventura County, California area.

Division J was President’s Distinguished in its first year (under Division Governor Jamuna Ramnath) and its last year (under Division Director Bozena Chorazewicz), and was Distinguished or better, five of the six years it existed as J. As Division C, we continue this legacy of excellence in supporting all our clubs to bring the greatest benefit to their members.

Division C now includes 26 clubs in the communities of Thousand Oaks, Newbury Park, Westlake Village, Moorpark, and Simi Valley. Each club is organized into one of five areas, C1, C2, C3, C4, & C5, (formerly J1, J2, J3, J4, & J5 respectively).

Why the change from J to C?

District 33 had long covered central California and southern Nevada. That changed on July 1, 2019 when the Nevada portion split off to become District 115. This resulted in a realignment of divisions names in District 33, to fill in what had become gaps in the alphabetical sequence. Many feel Division C is somewhat fitting, as it was originally formed from part of Division B.